Office Structure | HKAES

Office Structure

The general meeting of all Fellows is the fundamental decision body of the Academy. All Fellows have equal votes at a general meeting. The Annual General Meeting (AGM) approves the election of new Fellows, appointments of Council members, acceptance of the President’s report, financial report, and the appointment and remuneration of auditors. All other matters are transacted in extraordinary general meetings (EGM). The Academy’s work is directed by the Council. Council members are elected by all Fellows at the annual general meetings. Business is conducted through the Secretariat which is managed by the officers of the Council. Officers are elected from the Council members, comprising the President, Senior Vice President, Vice Presidents, Honorary Treasurer, and Honorary Secretary. Every year the Council appoints the Chairman and members of the Membership Committee to consider nomination of candidates for election as new Fellows. The Council also appoints ad hoc committees to deal with specific matters from time to time.